clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boulevard Is The Only Local James Beard Award Winner

Despite a good number of nominees for this year's James Beard Awards, and Mariani's prediction that Daniel Patterson would walk away with the title of Best Chef: Pacific, The Bay Area was snubbed emphatically at this year's ceremony. That said, it was a very proud moment for Pat Kuleto and Nancy Oakes, as Boulevard won in the Outstanding Restaurant category after being nominated and not winning for eight years straight. Fist-bumping and hugging ensued.

Revisiting the Best Chef: Pacific rebuff: Christopher Kostow, Chris Cosentino and Michael Chiarello joined Patterson among the nominees, but it was Matt Molina of Osteria Mozza in LA who walked away with the prize in the end. Meanwhile, congrats are in order for local pastry great Emily Luchetti who was inducted into the James Beard Who's Who club, along with Grant Achatz, Mark Bittman, Dana Cowin, and Marvin Shanken. Eater National has the rest of the winners for your Tuesday morning enjoyment, or you can check out the New York point of view here. Oh, the politics.

· Winners: 2012 James Beard Restaurant and Chef Awards [Eater National]
· All James Beard Awards Coverage [~ ESF ~]


1 Mission Street, , CA 94105 (415) 543-6084 Visit Website