clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All the SF Restaurant Industry Winners from Last Night’s Saucy Awards

Who won chef of the year, restaurateur of the year, and more

The evening’s winners on stage.
Janelle Bitker

The third annual Saucy Awards took place last night at the Herbst Theater, bringing all corners of the local restaurant industry out for a lively party and ceremony, hosted by Liam Mayclem of KCBS.

Nominations were first open to the public, and then a steering committee (Marcy Coburn of CUESA, Eater SF’s own Ellen Fort, Marcia Gagliardi of Tablehopper, Peter Kane of SF Weekly, Virgina Miller of the Perfect Spot, and Joel Riddell of ABC) selected the final nominees, and the winners were ultimately voted upon by the Golden Gate Restaurant Association, which organizes the Saucy Awards. (That is, except for the Lifetime Achievement and People’s Choice awards.)

Congrats to all of the 2018 winners:

Chef of the Year: Alex Hong (Sorrel)
Pastry Chef of the Year: Elisabeth Pruiett (Tartine Bakery, Tartine Manufactory)
Rising Star Chef of the Year: Nite Yun (Nyum Bai)
Sous Chef of the Year: Pujan Sarkar (Rooh)

Exceptional Full-Service Restaurant of the Year: Californios
Exceptional Fast-Casual Restaurant of the Year: Deli Board
Exceptional Specialty Food Establishment of the Year: Cinderella Bakery
Exceptional Non-Brick & Mortar Restaurant of the Year: Pinoy Heritage

Community Spirit of the Year: 4505 Burgers & BBQ
Sustainable Restaurant or Bar of the Year: SingleThread Farms
Wine Program of the Year: Saison
Cocktail Program of the Year: Pacific Cocktail Have
Beer Program of the Year: Radhaus

Restaurateur of the Year: Adriano Paganini (Beretta, Lolinda, A Mano, Super Duper Burgers, Flores, Delarosa, Starbelly, Uno Dos Tacos, The Bird, Barvale, El Techo, Belga)
Beverage Professional of the Year: Simone Mims (Nico)
Manager of the Year: Emma Rosenbush (Cala)
Employee of the Year: Juan Aguilar (NOPA)
Outstanding Industry Service Provider - Supplier: GreenLeaf
Outstanding Industry Service Provider - Partner: San Francisco Wine School

People’s Choice Winner of the Year: Scoma’s

GGRA Lifetime Achievement Award: Nancy Oakes (Boulevard)